Press Release for Lil Eazy-E’s “Prince of Compton”

“The West Coast has birthed some of the hardest lyrics to hit the rap world, with songs like “F**k the Police,” “6 N the Mornin,” and “It Was a Good Day.” The heart of some of the grittiest rhymes emerged from the streets of Compton, where hustling, and gangbanging were a way of life.

NWA introduced the world to Gangster Rap in the 80’s; Lil Eazy-E will resuscitate it in 2008, with his debut release on the Universal/Blackground label “Prince of Compton,” scheduled to drop September 16, 2008. The first release “What We’re Claimin” is a gangster’s anthem, with rich lyrical flow over funky, hard hitting beats.

Lil Eazy-E continues the legacy of his late father, rap icon Eric Eazy-E Wright, by delivering a searing collection of bone-crushing songs about the streets of his hometown, Compton. Lil Eazy’s lyrics reflect on the life and untimely death of his father, giving listeners an intimate look into their world.

He is prepared to put his own personal twist on the legacy left by his father. Lil Eazy-E’s lyrics tell the story of his life growing up in Compton, and living with one of the icons of gangster rap. He addresses all who have questioned his skills, the life and death of his father, and studio gangsters building careers by imitating the appearance and persona of West Coast pioneers that brought the streets of South Central to the rap game. Having grown up with many of the legends of gangster rap, it’s only natural that he call-out those that are faking in their music and in front of the cameras.

Lil Eazy-E is holding nothing back. He is dealing with subjects that until now have been fueled by rumors, such as his lifestyle since his fathers passing.

A lot of people probably think I grew-up in the Suburbs of Southern California, living a privileged life. What they don’t know is I was born and raised in the same house as my father, the oldest of nine kids. We were a big family that all grew-up together. I lived the same life as my father, and I’m giving you that life on ‘The Prince of Compton’,” explains Lil Eazy-E.

Prince of Compton” brings West Coast rap back with a vengeance, merging the flavor of N.W.A on songs such as “Money and Power” and “They Killed You,” and mixing things up with “This Ain’t a Game” featuring Bone Thugs, which takes listeners back to the Ruthless days. Lil Eazy-E also pays homage to one of his childhood hero’s Ice Cube on “Shotgun” which was inspired by the street classic “Today Was a Good Day.”

Ice Cube was a huge influence on my record. Knowing him as a kid and then working with him as a man was a great learning experience,” said Lil Eazy-E.

With a phenomenal debut album, budding record company and fledgling roster of talented rappers, Lil Eazy-E is poised to become the next West Coast Rap Kingpin, just as his father did nearly 20 years ago.”

Check out Lil Eazy-E’s current single “What We’re Claiming“:

Check it out at his Official Myspace page http://www.myspace.com/lileazye

15 thoughts on “Press Release for Lil Eazy-E’s “Prince of Compton”

  1. I heard Lil’E om several radio shows. Haters calling talkin about he only rifin off his daddys name. Well its like thiz.

    Not all entertainers have children who r talented enough to walk in their footsteps.

    I listened to Lil’e in interviews and he got alot of business sense to have dropped out school.

    Lil’E looks and sounds like his pops and he got that right to represent his pops to the fullest. Game ride off of Eazy-E name every album, when he
    didn’t even know him.

    I listened to his songs and like what he does. especially with my bone thugz n harmony (rippin my state).But I can’t wait to hear what he has with NWA.

    I got that feelin before I buy his record like waiting for an EAZY or NWA album to drop.

    He is dope, and he should be able to move 1 million units eazy cause the album is going to be blessed.

  2. U can’t get two bigger names in gangster rap then Eazy-E and Dre. Dre.
    Co-GodFather’s of gangster rap. What made Eazy’s and Dre’s solo album
    so successful was they had a prior gimmick. N.W.A! MC REN once said,
    “Full circle all this shit going to repeat!” What can be be just as big or bigger than another solo album or (NWA) by these two then Lil’Eazy and Hood Surgeon. Eazy-E’s and Dr. Dre’s first born seeds. I am not sayin Hood Surgeon has to be signed to NWA Entertainment. But if the two collaborated before their solo album bumps then it would blow up their careers before the shit hits the fan! And whats ironic is they both sound like their fathers and could bring much heat to the table. That album would be so big especially if they had family love>(NWA/Aftermath)

  3. i grew up listining to e i know everthing about ur dad.he was the best i juss wish i met him but i know him bye hart he also teach me the street life and be true to my self i know 4 a fack he was waching above me like a angel thats how powerful your dad is my name is david riccio borm and raied in brampton ont can and your father is my hero

  4. When I was 19, I had the opportunity to meet with Eazy-E on the set of his video “Last Words”. Make a long story short. He was interested in some beats. He came over to the house in a gold Mercedes. I played some beats for him that he liked and he asked me to meet him at the Black Hole Recording Studio. He then gave me a ganga numbers. Told me to call him. When called him, people told me his was sick, I thought they was lying or he was flaking. Then the news broke about him passing. He was a real dude. No body guards, by himself to the house. Very unfortunate his passing.

  5. So When Is This Album Do Again? Eazy-E Was The Shit!!!!!!! You Got every inpatient Holmes. Whens The Album Coming Or Is It Out? They Got 2 Start Making some Eazy-E Shit Back Out Just Like They Do 2 2pac, Hes Dead 2 But Some How Some Throwing isx shit around. And Now I Hear His Lil Boy Laying Some Shit On the table it got me fiening!!! For some Lil Eazy-E. Thats Eazy-e’s Kid Ese!!!

  6. Oh I Almost Forgot Stay Up Holmes. Your Pops Was The Shit I Still Bump His Shit. And You Sound Kind Of Like him But Dont Trip Thats Just That Eazy Jean. I Heard You On The Eternal E On The Last Track A Lil Eazier Said You Got Down Holmes.

Leave a comment